THE THING CALLED FEAR

Happy 2nd half of 2017! (I know that’s not a thing but just felt appropriate lol). Somewhere last week on my way to work, I was reading a novel, Half of the Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Adichie. (If you get your hands on it, please read because it’s amazing). I was sitting in a troski (commercial bus) by this elderly man. He looks at me whilst I’m reading and goes like “You know it’s not advisable to read in a commercial car, right?”

I ask him why and this is his answer. “When someone sees you reading in the open like that, they can easily put witchcraft to the book which transfers to you. So it will be better if you read in your private car”. Internally, this is my reaction,

DDv7fVdXkAAjh3I

But I’m not in the mood to continue with the conversation, so I tell him “Thanks but Psalm 91” and bury my head back in my book. (Coincidentally, that was my quiet time scripture that morning). I honestly didn’t care if he understood my answer or not. I couldn’t even concentrate on my book anymore because I was legit in shock and surprise. Now these are the issues I will like to address concerning his comment.

A lot of us are living in fear especially Christians ironically, without even realizing. So I started wondering, according to his assertion, a witch will rather attack a person reading than someone staring into space in the commercial bus? Really? We tend to tie ourselves to certain beliefs out of fear. The Bible tells us He that is in us is greater than he that is in the world (1 John 4:4) but we just recite that without even believing it. We’ll rather coil in fear so we are not noticed to be attacked. But think about it, is that the life we are called to live?

It also brought my mind to why some of us are not progressing in life (sorry to be harsh). You see someone doing something different from the status quo and we don’t get it. If I was listening to music sitting by him, he definitely would not have commented. But the fact that I was reading a book which is not really a common occurrence in the bus he just had to comment. It made me realize that we keep on limiting ourselves for fear of what people will say. We have not been called to follow the crowd. Psalm 8:5 says he has made us a little lower than the angels, so I believe we are made to soar higher than we are made to believe. Following the crowd makes you settle for what you think is normal, hence no growth in our lives.

Please let’s remember to do the best we can to eliminate fear from our lives. It’s not easy especially when it has become a habit but it is possible because we’re victors in Christ Jesus and we have the Holy Spirit to help us.

“The person who follows the crowd will usually go no further than the crowd. The person who walks alone is likely to find himself in places no one has ever seen before.”  
― Albert Einstein

2 thoughts on “THE THING CALLED FEAR

Leave a Reply

