UNTITLED

618734

I’ll like to render my apologies for my somewhat hibernation. I’m happy to be back now and I’ll try not to go away next time. I’m very grateful to God for my 24th birthday as well as the peaceful elections in my country, Ghana.

I was trying to find the perfect title for my post today but I ended up settling with Untitled because I was actually blank lol. So today I want to share something which I’ve had with me for over two weeks. It’s from 1 Samuel 16:14-21. I’m pretty sure most of us are familiar with this story so let me attempt a summary. The passage talks about when Saul needed someone to play the harp for him to rid him of the evil spirit tormenting him. One of his young men recommended David. Saul took a great liking to David and even made him his armour bearer.

Upon reading this for the umpteenth time in my life, something struck me and that’s what I want to share. First of all, let me give us all a quick tip: When reading the Bible, in order to get the whole picture, it is advisable to read the preceding verses and even sometimes the latter. Words like ‘therefore’, ‘so’, etc carry a lot of weight so the verses before help you to grasp the picture.

Okay so back to my topic: let’s look at v.13. Can you see the power of the Holy Spirit? I mean, it’s no coincidence the trajectory of David’s life after he was anointed with the Spirit. This takes my mind to Luke 1:35 and Acts 1:8 which also talk about the power of the Holy Spirit. He (please the Holy Spirit is not an’it’) comes into your life and you just cannot live an ordinary life. Think about this, a whole Jesus Christ living in you and you end up being just average?

Again, take a look at the v.18. King Saul just asks for someone who can play the harp well. The person can be tall, dark, short, blind or whatever, all he needs is a pro in harpology ( I invented the word myself lol). But just see the attributes that were added to David. This totally brings my mind to my favourite Bible verse 2 Cor. 9:8 ( I’ve talked about it in an earlier post). Reiterating my point, how can you be in Christ and be average, when He’s able to make all grace come to you in abundance? Let me blow your mind even more with v 21. David was promoted from a harp player to an armour bearer! This is where I drop my mic and exit. Goodness!

This is the power of Christ in us! You and I cannot be average. In these recent times where everyone wants to bring others down, you just cannot be ordinary. Status, age, educational background, body type and all the others cannot tie you down. Realize that you are a masterpiece because the power of the Holy Spirit is in you. Let me end this with one of my favourite lyrics from Beckah Shae in her song Supernova.

Outshining galaxies like a supernova!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

