HE MAKES YOU A STORYTELLER

Some days ago, my Youth Pastor called me saying he wanted me to share a bit of my life and experiences (basically education, my Christian walk and work life so far) at our usual Sunday youth service. I was a bit nervous about it because I felt I had nothing extraordinary to share. Apart from that too, I’m quite secretive by nature so opening up about my life especially in public is not an easy feat. I didn’t decline the offer though, because lately I’ve told myself I’ll grasp any leadership opportunity.

Interestingly enough, before I got the call, I was thinking about the fact that it’s always been a dream of mine to be a role model and a mentor to young ones. So, the call from my Pastor I knew, was God doing his own thing with respect to my desire. I quickly started remembering my past and stuff I’ve gone through with respect to the topics stated initially.

I didn’t prepare so much for the Sunday but I just made sure I had everything in my head so I could roll it all out. I was still nervous about it because I felt I had nothing to talk about but I prayed that God take absolute control over whatever I will go and share. So the day came and I was called to the pulpit. I don’t even talk much but after, a friend told me he had recorded and I spoke for 40 minutes! Here I was thinking I had no extraordinary story but then as I was speaking I noticed that I actually do have one.(if you want details from what I shared, come find me lol).

After my plenty talk, two people approached me to tell me my story was very encouraging and they totally enjoyed what I shared. I was so humbled and I realized that everyone has a story. As long as you call yourself a child of God, you do have something to share. Yes, we all don’t have the same life. Yes, some are way more dramatic and seemingly interesting than others but then for all of us, I believe we have something to share about God’s goodness and grace. So if you get the opportunity to share, just avail yourself and God will do the rest. If you have a story you want to share (anonymously or not), you can email me @ melissawallace525@gmail.com

Have a blissful day guys!

PS. This lovely song just came to mind. Storyteller by Morgan Harper Nichols

2 thoughts on “HE MAKES YOU A STORYTELLER

Leave a Reply

