It’s all about me!

Hello everyone! I’m back again with my stories which I know you enjoy reading. Today I want to just talk a bit about what I’ll like to call the “me” factor. We live in a world where we are much more concerned with ourselves and what makes us happy. I’m the number one victim of this. You hear people go like ‘do what makes you happy and forget about what others think’.  I mean, that statement has some truth to it I think, but is it a valid statement? More and more we’re becoming more selfish without realizing because we just want to meet our own needs after all, ‘it’s my life, I live it how I want to, right?’

Last Sunday, we treated the topic of discipleship during our Sunday School Session and we looked at 1  Corinthians 8:9 (my favourite memory verse coincidentally is 2 Corinthians 9:8, you should check it out) which says ‘Only be careful that this liberty of yours [this power to choose] does not somehow become a stumbling block [that is, a temptation to sin] to the weak [in conscience]  (Amplified Version). You could read the whole chapter to get a better idea of what Paul meant.

I mean, that is just to tell us that it’s really not all about you or me. Yes I have the liberty to do what I want but then it should not cause someone to want to sin. Wow! So an interesting example was given that, it is not wrong in itself for a Christian to work in an alcohol producing company. However, he working there might cause a ‘weaker’ Christian to think that it’s therefore alright to drink and get drunk and he may also introduce another ‘weaker’ Christian which may cause results which would be a sin. After the example, I thought, ‘Ah well that’s not my problem. I didn’t tell him to go and start drinking alcohol, I’m just trying to put money in my pocket and help my family. So if he thinks that way it’s his fault for and his problem, not mine’.

And I realised that’s exactly the ‘me’ factor showing its colours. We always do things forgetting that we’re supposed to be Christ’s examples on earth. Jesus Christ didn’t think about just himself, else He would have just told God to find a replacement asap because He can’t die to save people who were not even aware of what He was doing. I’m so not there yet but with the help of the Holy Spirit, I hope I’ll let go of the ‘me’ factor and you should too.

Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

