Which Plant are You?

One of my morning chores is to water the plants in our compound. I actually enjoy it a lot because we have a lot of flower pots with varying plants. For some plants, I give more water than the rest. Some I hardly even water because they don’t need it. I pay extra attention to the hibiscuses and a few others whose names I don’t know, unfortunately. There’s this particular plant which my mother always tells me not to waste water on, but I still do. She says that because it refuses to grow anymore and the soil seems to be either so clayey or filled with roots that, most of the water I end up pouring on it just trickles down the crack of the pot. I keep on watering it anyway. One day, I realized another plant growing in the middle of it which did surprise me and make me happy at the same time. I was excited because I had almost given up on it, only for me to see this fresh little sprout.

Okay, so what is my point?

I believe God speaks in some unconventional ways and He did so during one of my watering days. We are like the plants with God being the gardener or in my case, the one who waters the plants. He waters us according to our ability as in the case of the Parable of the Talents. Some He waters more than others because He knows exactly what He’s doing. Other people may give up on us because we may not be performing as we’re supposed to for reasons unknown to them. In other words, people may consider us to be useless but the Creator of the Universe still waters us knowing that in due time we will produce that little fresh plant within us. Let us not pay heed to what the world says of us, though it may hurt. Let’s fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our lives.

Leave a Reply

